A changed perspective.

I had been wanting to do this for a few years now, is stay hungry continuously for all three days, to try and get a glimpse of what Abbabdillah (as), his family and companions faced in Karbala, on the 10th of Muharrum. 
I had been fasting from the 7th of Muharrum, for years now, from the date when the water was stopped, till the 10th of Muharrum. But I always wanted to avoid, iftaar and meals in the evening and stay hungry all along, but I could never do it. 
Alhamdulillah, this year, I did it slightly, I had minimum consumption of water, i.e. less than 500 ml of water from the 7th, and just one light meal in the evening. 
Believe you me, even after that, my throat is dry, my lips are dry, I feel dizzy frequently, and my throat is sore due to lack of water. 

I am not here, to complain, or show you what an excellent task I did by doing this, or see how great I am, all I want to say is, with all the comforts, just having little water and food, has affected my body, so severely.
It just makes me think, that it is easy for us to sit and listen to what happened in Karbala, but what we are listening is not even an edge of the story, we will never be able to comprehend what Abbabdillah (as) went through that day.
The thirst, the heat, the hunger, the wounds, the heartbreak, the sorrow, the pain, we can never ever feel even an ounce of it to it’s optimum. 
We can never lament his tragedies to the fullest, because we will never be able to comprehend them completely. 
I just tried to put myself through one, even that I couldn’t do it completely and I failed immensely. 

While, Abbabdillah (as) was dealing with more than a 1000 wounds both externally and internally. 

Ya Abbabdillah (as)! 
May Allah bless us all, in the name of Abbabdillah (as) and May our respects and condolences to the Prophet (saww) and his family on this huge tragedy be accepted, iA! 
W/Salaam! 

Leave a comment